Beer Review: Birra Etrusca Bronze

Being married to an anthropologist/archaeologist, this beer is very exciting for me (us) to try. It was brewed by Dogfishhead and Birreria Brothers with the help of molecular archaeologist,  Dr. Patrick McGovern. Using archaeological evidence, they reconstructed a 2,800 year old Etruscan ale recipe (and I assume, added their own flair.) It’s an “ancient ale” with 8.5% ABV. Special ingredients include: honey, hazelnut flour, heirloom wheat, myrrh, gentian root, raisins,  and pomegranates. Let’s do this!

Appearance  5/5

A beautiful dark orange brown with bright golden highlights. A fairly substantial but short-lived head. There was also a constant stream of bubbles rising to the top.

Aroma  5/5

Yeasty like a Belgian ale with a sweet/sour apple finish right at the end.

Palate  4/5

Rather thin and light with a slight tingle from the carbonation. The sourness “gets me in the gills” and there is a warming sensation from the alcohol on the way down.

Flavor  5/5

I wonder if they used Belgian Ale yeast for this. It really makes me think of that. The malt has that same quality too but that’s where the similarities end. It has a sour fruity flavor at the end which I assume comes from the pomegranate, but it tastes more like apple to me.

Overall 9/10

All I have to say is that I really, REALLY like this. I think I’ll drink the whole bomber myself. My wife only wanted a sip anyway.

Sip slowly and enjoy in good company.

This entry was posted in Beer Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beer Review: Birra Etrusca Bronze

Leave a Reply

